Is it Kosher?
Products that Do Not Require Certification
Cocoa - plain, with no additives.
Coffee - Plain - without flavoring.
Dried Fruit - with no oil or other ingredients listed (except for the usual preservatives, such as potassium sorbate, sulphur dioxide and sodium bisulfate).
Flour - plain only.
Fruits - most plain canned and frozen fruits with no added ingredients besides water, salt, sugar, corn syrup, corn sweetener, citric acid, ascorbic acid, are acceptable without certification. Calcium chloride, lactic acid, and ferrous glutomate do not require certification, but beware of added ingredients such as spices, flavorings, colorings, or grape juice. Grape juice is especially common lately in "juice pack" and diet pack varieties of fruit which contain no added sugar or flavoring.
Maraschino Cherries - without added flavoring.
Nuts - plain, with no oil or other ingredients (besides salt) on the label, when they have been dry roasted.
Popcorn Kernels - plain, with no oil, flavoring, etc.
Raisins - plain, with no oil listed on the label.
Rice - plain, with no flavor or seasoning added.
Rock Candy - unflavored only.
Rye - straight liquor.
Sake - pure.
Tequila -without worm. (See article, page 200.)
Tea - plain, with no added ingredients or flavorings.
Vegetables - fresh and frozen - pure. Care must be taken to check for worms in leafy vegetables. (see page 222.)
Wheat Germ - with no added ingredients.