Passover Alerts

Matzah Ashira

Caution should be used when buying Matzos to be sure that they are no in the category of "Matzah Ashira". Some brands that produce Matzah Ashira are; Aviv, Hagada, Holiday, Horowitz Margareten, Jerusalem, King Star, Manischewitz, Matzot Carmel, Osem, Rishon, Shibolim, Shoprite, Yanovsky and Yehuda.
Some types of Matzah Ashira include:
Egg Matzoh
Chocolate Covered Matzohs
Sweet Matzo Crackers
Egg & Honey Matzohs

Kitniyos Products

Be alert for products on the shelf this year that bear a Hashgacha for Pesach that include Kitniyos. The O/U and the Star K, among others, have given Hashgacha to many Kitniyos produts. The symbol is O/UP-Kitniyot or Star-S. Ashkenazic Jews and Sephardim, whose minhag it is to NOT eat Kitniyos should be aware of the growing number of Pesach products available that contain Kitniyos and are reserved only for those Sephardic Jews whose minhag it is to eat Kitniyos on Pesach.

Fresh Direct Smooth Peanut Butter

Fresh Direct brad freshly ground smooth peanut butter and freshly ground smooth almond butter mistakenly bear the O/KP symbol. This product is Kosher Pareve, but is NOT Kosher for Passover.

Nestea Instant Tea

Nestea Instant Tea is only Kosher for Pesach Regular Unflavored. Decaffeinated is not approved for Pesach.

Mehadrin Ice Cream Cones

One of the Pareve varieties of Mehadrin Ice Cream Cones has mistakenly been labeled with an O/UP symbol next to the word "Pareve". This product is Pareve but NOT Kosher for Passover.

Resource Benefiber

Resource Benefiber is only Kosher for Pesach when ordered specially from Nestle Nutrition and made from guar gum. the regular Benefiber product, produced by Novartis, is made from wheat dextrin and is Chometz.

Oneg Viennese Crunch

O/U and cRc certified Oneg Viennese Crunch White Family Package has mistakenly been labeled O/UP and cRcP on a number of their packaging. This product has been withdrawn from the marketplace.


Quinoa is Kosher L'Pesach and is not related to the 5 types of Chometz grains, millet or rice. However, because there is a possibility that quinoa grows in proximity of Chometz grains and processed in facilities that compromise its Kosher for Passover status, quinoa should only be accepted for Pesach use with a reliable Kosher for Passover supervision.
It is also important when purchasing Kosher for Passover quinoa before Pesach to place the quinoa on a plate and check carefully through the contents of the package for any extraneous matter (i.e. barley etc.).

Flowers from Israel - Shmittah

Flowers that come from Eretz Yisroel often have an issue with Shmittah. Check the source of flowers you buy for Pesach and year-round.

Fresh Fruits and Vegetables - Shmittah

Be aware to check the source of fresh fruits and vegetables carefully as some are from Eretz Yisroel (i.e. persimmons etc.) and have Shmittah prohibitions. This is a problem for Pesach as well as year-round.

Pet Food

Be aware that some Pet Foods can change their ingredients from year to year. Be sure to check the ingredient panel on your pet's food each new year before Pesach for Chometz ingredients. See "Pet Foods" article for a list of Chometz ingredients to look out for. This year the dog food brands that often contain Chometz are: Science Diet, Beneful, Pedigree, Purina and Alpo.


All ground processed spices need Hashgacha for Pesach this year (even pure spices).

Ant and Roach traps

Ant and Roach traps often use Chometz bait.

Zoo Alert

Be careful when visiting a zoo during Pesach not to purchase animal food to feed the animals from the zoo, as most of them contain Chometz.

Pure Honey

Pure honey from China has been found to be adulterated with corn and rice syrup. One brand was found to not even contain honey.

Elite Products

Not all Elite products bear recommended Hashgachos. Check the label for acceptable Hashgacha.

Check packages carefully

Be careful to check packages of Kosher for Pesach items for the Pesach certification, as some non-Pesach Kosher products are packaged in a similar way to those products that are Kosher for Pesach and can be easily confused.


All honey requires special Pesach Hashgacha.


All fresh, peeled carrots (whole, cut or shredded) need special Passover supervision.

Nestea Decaf

This year, Nestea Decaf is not recommended for use on Pesach.

Warming Drawers

As warming drawers cannot be kashered for Pesach, they should be cleaned, sealed and NOT used during Pesach.


When purchasing a Kosher for Passover quinoa product, it is advisable that before Pesach one check through the grains for extraneous matter (i.e. grains of barley etc.) by placing the quinoa on a plate and looking through the grains of quinoa.

Check Packages Carefully

Be careful to check packages of Kosher-for-Passover items for the Pesach certification. Some non-Passover Kosher products of certain brands have similar packaging to those products that they manufacture for Passover and can be easily confused.

Pure Honey from China

Pure honey from china has been found to be adulterated with corn and rice syrup (Kitniyos).

Affula Sunflower Seeds

Affula Sunflower Seeds have a "Kosher for Passover" designation, when, in fact, they are Kitniyos and intended for use only by those Sephardim who have the minhag to eat Kitniyos.


Although all year long the Kof K ce4rtifies Joyva products, their Passover products are certified Kp under the supervision of Rabbi Sheinkop. As Joyva Passover products contain cornstarch and corn syrup, the Passover Kp designation is recommended ONLY for Sephardim.

Streit's Fried Rice Mix

Streit's produced a limited quantity of Fried Rice Mix that was labeled Kof KP (Kosher for Passover), when,in fact,this product is NOT
Kosher for Passover. This product contains Chometz.

Pesach products with Kitniyos

The O/U and other Hashgacha organizations have undertaken to certify certain Pesach products this year that contain Kitniyos, for those Sephardim whose minhag it is to eat Kitniyos (legumes). The designation on the label will read "O/Up - Kiyniyot". Since there will be a number of these products available this year for Pesach Ashkenazim and those Sephardim who do NOT eat Kitniyos should take care to be careful to look for this Kitniyos designation on the label of Pesach products.

Pet Food Ingredients

Pet food ingredients can often change from year to year as Pet Food companies change and adjust their standards.
Some commonly listed items found on pet food ingredient panels that are NOT acceptable for Pesach are:
Wheat (cracked, flour, germ, gluten, ground, grouts, middlings, starch), Barley (cracked, flour), Oats (flour, grouts, hulled), Pasta, Rye, Xanthan Gum and Brewer's dried Yeast.

Some of the more popular pet (dog/cat) foods that most often contain Chometz are:
Science Diet Dog Food


All spices (even pure) this year need a Hashgacha for Pesach.

Zoos on Pesach

Many zoos sell animal food that contains Chometz, therefore, one should refrain from buying food to feed the animals at the zoo during Pesach.

Ant and Roach Traps

Many ant and roach traps use Chometz as their bait.

Frozen Fish

Due to frequent application of glazes on raw fish, it should be purchased only with reliable kosher certification for Passover.

Dairy Foods

Dairy foods can pose a problem for Pesach use due to the prevalence of enzymes, stabilizers, flavors and vitamins which are made from Chometz and Kitniyos and are present in most dairy products. Therefore, dairy products require a reliable Passover certification for Passover use.
Plain whole, low-fat and skim milk (fresh, not long shelf-life items) may be purchased before Passover without special certification for Passover. However, it is proper not to purchase milk during Passover unless reliably certified for Passover.

Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate

Hershey's Special Dark chocolate is not approved for Pesach use.

King of the Sea tuna

The Orthodox Union does not certify King of the Sea tuna for Passover.

Aicha - White Truffles Champignons Terfess

Brand: Aicha
Product: White Truffles Champignons Terfess
Company: Les Conserves de Meknes
Issue: Mislabeling
Consumers of this OU-P product should verify that the letters "DA" and "RDSL" are part of the ink-jet code that appears on the top of the can. If the letters "DA" and "RDSL" are not included in the code, the product is not certified by the Orthodox Union.

King David Coffee

King David coffee in regular or Decaf is reliably certified by the KVH for Pesach.

Join KosherQuest

Become a Member of KosherQuest now to receive email alerts and the magazine.

Search our databases

About KosherQuest

KosherQuest is the Web site of the Kosher Information Bureau. It is the most comprehensive Web site regarding Kashrus in the world. Read More.

Support KosherQuest.


KosherQuest needs your donations to continue running. Please consider making a donation securely via PayPal.

KosherQuest Sponsors


In tribute to Rabbi Daniel Mark Arnall ע"ה Rabbi Daniel Mark Arnall was a person who was devoted to the tzibur and to Klal Yisroel. During his lifetime he exemplified the mida of pure chesed to friends and strangers alike, through his acts of selfless gemilus chasidim, bikur cholim, nichum aveilim, hachnasas orchim and much more. Rabbi Arnall’s mida of emuna and bitachon served as a role model for all who came in contact with him. I feel fortunate to have called him my talmid for almost four decades. And for decades Rabbi Arnall has been a driving force of the Kashrus Conscience publication, Kosherquest on-line and in many other areas of the Kosher Information Bureau. May he continue to be a Malitz Yosher for his family and for all of Klal Yisroel.